Sarah Booker

04/07/2014

My own Rolf Harris experience

Filed under: journalism — Sarah Booker Lewis @ 1:04 pm
Tags: , ,

20140704-133749-49069497.jpg

Back in 1993 I interviewed Rolf Harris at the Glastonbury festival.

He had just performed a storming set on the Pyramid stage and signed autographs for fans at the side gate.

I felt lucky to have the opportunity to interview one of my childhood heroes.

Rolf answered my questions, telling me how much he enjoyed the experience.

Afterwards I told friends how weird it felt to have him staring at my chest the entire time.

It was a hot summer day and I wore a vest with a crochet top over it.

“Nice shirt,” he said at the end of the interview.

He’d obviously enjoyed looking at my 22-year-old boobs.

I felt disappointed but thought he’s a man, that’s how some men are.

Since his conviction other journalists have told how he touched them inappropriately.

Now I feel fortunate for nothing more than a look and sleazy comment.

Picture above from Glastonbury 2010 by DG Jones licensed by Creative Commons on Flickr.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

